Boekenliefde

Anticipated releases in april 2021 | Boekenliefde

Normaal houd ik nooit bij welke boeken wanneer uitkomen, maar sinds ik een reading journal heb wel. Hier heb ik namelijk een release kalender in verwerkt en besloot ik deze met jullie te delen.

Er komen nog heel wat andere boeken uit, maar onderstaande boeken zijn boeken waar ik persoonlijk heel erg hard naar uitkijk. Ik heb echt nog geen idee welke van onderstaande boeken ik zal aankopen en welke niet, want geloof mij, het wordt een moeilijke keuze.


Kisses and Croissants van Anne-Sophie Jouhanneau

Seventeen-year-old Mia, an American girl at an elite summer ballet program, has six weeks to achieve her dreams: to snag an audition with one of the world’s best ballet companies. But there’s more to Paris than ballet—especially when a charming French boy, Louis, wants to be her tour guide—and the pair discover the city has a few mysteries up its sleeve. In the vein of romances like Love and Gelato, this is the perfect summer adventure for anyone looking to get swept away in the City of Love. 

Kate in waiting van Becky Albertalli

Contrary to popular belief, best friends Kate Garfield and Anderson Walker are not codependent. Carpooling to and from theater rehearsals? Environmentally sound and efficient. Consulting each other on every single life decision? Basic good judgment. Pining for the same guys from afar? Shared crushes are more fun anyway. But when Kate and Andy’s latest long-distance crush shows up at their school, everything goes off script. Matt Olsson is talented and sweet, and Kate likes him. She really likes him. The only problem? So does Anderson. Turns out, communal crushes aren’t so fun when real feelings are involved. This one might even bring the curtains down on Kate and Anderson’s friendship.

She drives me crazy van Kelly Quindlen

High school nemeses fall in love in this queer YA rom com perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Casey McQuisten. After losing spectacularly to her ex-girlfriend in their first game since their break up, Scottie Zajac gets into a fender bender with the worst possible person: her nemesis, the incredibly beautiful and incredibly mean Irene Abraham. Things only get worse when their nosey, do-gooder moms get involved and the girls are forced to carpool together until Irene’s car gets out of the shop. Their bumpy start only gets bumpier the more time they spend together. But when an opportunity presents itself for Scottie to get back at her toxic ex (and climb her school’s social ladder at the same time), she bribes Irene into playing along. Hijinks, heartbreak, and gay fake-dating scheme for the ages. From author Kelly Quindlen comes a new laugh-out-loud romp through the ups and downs of teen romance.

Oculta van Maya Motayne (A forgery of magic #2), het vervolg op Nocturna.

Onderstaande flaptekst kan spoilers bevatten over het eerste deel.

After joining forces to save Castallan from an ancient magical evil, Alfie and Finn haven’t seen each other in months. Alfie is finally stepping up to his role as heir and preparing for an International Peace Summit, while Finn is travelling and revelling in her newfound freedom from Ignacio. That is, until she’s unexpectedly installed as the new leader of one of Castallan’s powerful crime families. Now one of the four Thief Lords of Castallan, she’s forced to preside over the illegal underground Oculta competition, which coincides with the summit and boasts a legendary prize. Just when Finn finds herself back in San Cristobal, Alfie’s plans are also derailed. Los Toros, the mysterious syndicate responsible for his brother’s murder, has resurfaced—and their newest target is the summit. And when these events all unexpectedly converge, Finn and Alfie are once again forced to work together to follow the assassins’ trail and preserve Castallan’s hopes for peace with Englass. But will they be able to stop these sinister foes before a new war threatens their kingdom?

Zara Hossain is here van Sabina Khan

Zara’s family has waited years for their visa process to be finalized so that they can officially become US citizens. But it only takes one moment for that dream to come crashing down around them. Seventeen-year-old Pakistani immigrant, Zara Hossain, has been leading a fairly typical life in Corpus Christi, Texas, since her family moved there for her father to work as a pediatrician. While dealing with the Islamophobia that she faces at school, Zara has to lay low, trying not to stir up any trouble and jeopardize their family’s dependent visa status while they await their green card approval, which has been in process for almost nine years. But one day her tormentor, star football player Tyler Benson, takes things too far, leaving a threatening note in her locker, and gets suspended. As an act of revenge against her for speaking out, Tyler and his friends vandalize Zara’s house with racist graffiti, leading to a violent crime that puts Zara’s entire future at risk. Now she must pay the ultimate price and choose between fighting to stay in the only place she’s ever called home or losing the life she loves and everyone in it.

House of Hollow van Krystal Sutherland

Seventeen-year-old Iris Hollow has always been strange. Something happened to her and her two older sisters when they were children, something they can’t quite remember but that left each of them with an identical half-moon scar at the base of their throats. Iris has spent most of her teenage years trying to avoid the weirdness that sticks to her like tar. But when her eldest sister, Grey, goes missing under suspicious circumstances, Iris learns just how weird her life can get: horned men start shadowing her, a corpse falls out of her sister’s ceiling, and ugly, impossible memories start to twist their way to the forefront of her mind. As Iris retraces Grey’s last known footsteps and follows the increasingly bizarre trail of breadcrumbs she left behind, it becomes apparent that the only way to save her sister is to decipher the mystery of what happened to them as children. The closer Iris gets to the truth, the closer she comes to understanding that the answer is dark and dangerous – and that Grey has been keeping a terrible secret from her for years. 

The key to you and me van Jaye Robin Brown

A sweet and funny #ownvoices LGBTQ+ romance perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Julie Murphy, from the critically acclaimed author of Georgia Peaches and Other Forbidden Fruit! Piper Kitts is spending the summer living with her grandmother, training at the barn of a former Olympic horseback rider, and trying to get over her ex-girlfriend. Much to Piper’s dismay, her grandmother is making her face her fear of driving head-on by taking lessons from a girl in town. Kat Pearson has always suspected that she likes girls but fears her North Carolina town is too small to color outside the lines. But when Piper’s grandmother hires Kat to give her driving lessons, everything changes. Piper’s not sure if she’s ready to let go of her ex. Kat’s navigating uncharted territory with her new crush. With the summer running out, will they be able to unlock a future together?

Dit boek is (tijdens het schrijven van dit artikel) pas in mei beschikbaar op bol. Op andere websites wordt hij nog steeds verwacht eind april.

Boyfriend Material van Alexis Hall

Luc, de hoofdpersoon in ‘Boyfriend Material’ van Alexis Hall, is de zoon van een wereldberoemde rockster en is op zoek naar een normaal, lief vriendje dat hem kan helpen om zijn slechte imago in de pers op te poetsen. Oliver is een advocaat die in zijn hele leven nog niets schandaligs heeft gedaan. Echt boyfriend material, dus. Ze zijn totale tegenpolen, maar ze maken een afspraak: zolang de pers achter Luc aanzit, zullen ze doen alsof ze een relatie hebben. Daarna hoeven ze elkaar nooit meer te zien. Maar het probleem is dat de neprelatie wel heel echt begint te voelen.

De falling in love montage van Ciara Smyth.

Ik las deze reeds in het Engels, maar kan je alvast verklappen dat ik deze erg leuk vond!

De cynische Saoirse (17) gelooft niet meer in de liefde. Ze is vastbesloten om nooit meer aan een serieuze relatie te beginnen. Tot ze op een eindexamenfeestje Ruby ontmoet. Die daagt haar uit tot een experiment: een zomer vol klassieke dates die zo in een romantische comedy zouden passen, en die eindigt zodra vakantie voorbij is – geen verwachtingen van eeuwige liefde, geen gebroken harten, geen gezeur. Klinkt als een perfect plan, maar Ruby en Saoirse vergeten één ding: aan het einde worden de personages in de film altijd écht verliefd.

Naar welk boek kijk jij uit deze maand?


Dit artikel bevat affiliate links. Wanneer je een boek of ander artikel aankoopt via mijn persoonlijke link van bol, krijg ik daar een miniem percentage voor zonder meerprijs voor jou. Met dit bedrag investeer ik in mijn domein en hosting, maar organiseer ik ook vaak winacties. Vergeet niet jouw lokale boekhandel te steunen en overal prijzen te vergelijken. Koop vooral waar je jezelf goed bij voelt.

Reageer met Facebook

One Comment

  • Audrey

    Ik las net House of Hollow uit en ik heb er zo van genoten. Ik had het niet verwacht, want ik vond haar tweede boek niet zo goed, maar wauw. Ik zat er echt helemaal in. De rest van de boeken op je lijstje zien er ook geweldig uit.

Geef een antwoord

Het e-mailadres wordt niet gepubliceerd. Vereiste velden zijn gemarkeerd met *

CommentLuv badge
%d bloggers liken dit: